NSC’s Mallory Stewart to be Assistant Secretary of State For Arms Control, Verification and Compliance


President Biden announced his intent to nominate Mallory Stewart to be the next Assistant Secretary for Arms Control, Verification and Compliance (State/AVC). The WH released the following brief bio:

Mallory Stewart, Nominee for Assistant Secretary of State (Arms Control, Verification and Compliance)

Mallory Stewart currently serves as a Special Assistant to the President and Senior Director for Arms Control, Disarmament, and Nonproliferation on the National Security Council. Previously, Ms. Stewart was Senior Manager for Global Nuclear Security and Nonproliferation as Sandia National Laboratories.  She also has served as a Nonresident Fellow in the WMD, Nonproliferation and Security Program at the Stimson Center, as an Adjunct Professor at Georgetown University’s Center for Security Studies and as a Deputy Assistant Secretary of State for Emerging Security Challenges and Defense Policy in the Bureau of Arms Control, Verification and Compliance. She worked in the State Department Legal Advisor’s Office on arms control issues and, among other roles, served as the lead lawyer and one of the primary architects of the U.S.-Russia Framework to eliminate Syria’s declared chemical weapons stockpile.

Ms. Stewart earned an A.B degree from Harvard College and her J.D. degree from Stanford Law School.  She has written extensively on issues related to arms control and verification and was the recipient of the Secretary of State’s Award for Excellence in International Security Affairs among other honors.

If confirmed, Ms. Stewart would succeed Yleem D. S. Poblete who served from 2018–2019.
On September 8, 2020, the U.S. Senate received the nomination of Ryan Michael Tully, of New York, to be an Assistant Secretary of State (Verification and Compliance) and the nomination was referred to the SRFC. On January 3, 2021, that nomination was returned to the President under the provisions of Senate Rule XXXI, paragraph 6 of the Standing Rules of the Senate.