Former Condi Rice Advisor Carrie Beth Cabelka to be Asst Secretary For Administration

Help Fund the Blog |  Countdown:  6 Days to Go



On July 22, 2019, the WH announced the appointment of  Carrie Beth Cabelka, of Michigan, to be an Assistant Secretary of State for Administration. The WH released the following brief bio:

Carrie Beth Cabelka currently serves as the White House Liaison to the Department of State.  She previously served as White House Liaison and Senior Advisor to Secretary of State Condoleezza Rice from 2007 to 2009, and White House Liaison at the Office of Personnel Management from 2003 to 2007.  Ms. Cabelka began her career working for Senator Spencer Abraham of Michigan, followed by roles in the White House Office of Presidential Personnel and the Department of Commerce’s International Trade Administration.  While in the private sector, Ms. Cabelka oversaw multimillion-dollar contracts for the Department of Defense, managing public awareness campaigns on health issues that impact service members, veterans and their families, including a special focus on the prevention, treatment, and recovery from traumatic brain injury.  Ms. Cabelka earned a B.A. from Miami University (Ohio).

According to, the Department of State created the position of Assistant Secretary of State for Administration during a general reorganization in December 1944, after Congress authorized an increase in the number of Assistant Secretaries in the Department from four to six (Dec 8, 1944; P.L. 78-472; 58 Stat. 798). The reorganization was the first to designate substantive designations for specific Assistant Secretary positions.

Bureau of Administration Offices

If confirmed, Ms. Cabelka would replace Nicole Nason who was appointed as “A” in December 2017  and apparently served until March 2019 (see Trump to Nominate Ex-NHTSA Admin Nicole R. Nason to be Asst Secretary For Administration). 
Previous appointees to this position include career diplomats William A. Eaton (2001–2005), Patrick Francis Kennedy (1993–2001), and Joyce A. Barr (2011–2017).