19 Posts to Close From August 5-10; Some Missions Closed Aug 4 Reopens August 5

The following posts ordered closed on August 4 will reopen Monday, August 5 for normal operation:  Dhaka (Bangladesh), Algiers (Algeria),  Nouakchott (Mauritania), Kabul (Afghanistan) including consulates in Herat and Mazar el Sharif, and Baghdad (Iraq) including consulates in Basrah and Erbil.

The State Department also announced that the following 19 posts will close for normal operations Monday, August 5 through Saturday, August 10.


  1. Abu Dhabi (UAE)
  2. Dubai (UAE)
  3. Amman (Jordan)
  4. Cairo (Egypt)
  5. Riyadh (Saudi Arabia)
  6. Dhahran (Saudi Arabia)
  7. Jeddah (Saudi Arabia)
  8. Doha (Qatar)
  9. Kuwait (Kuwait)
  10. Manama (Bahrain)
  11. Muscat (Oman)
  12. Sanaa (Yemen)
  13. Tripoli (Libya)
  14. Antananarivo (Madagascar)
  15. Bujumbura (Burundi)
  16. Djibouti (Djibouti)
  17. Khartoum (Sudan)
  18. Kigali (Rwanda)
  19. Port Louis (Mauritius)

The State Department statement says that “This is not an indication of a new threat stream, merely an indication of our commitment to exercise caution and take appropriate steps to protect our employees including local employees and visitors to our facilities.”

All posts scheduled for closure on the August 5 week are located in the Middle East and Africa.  Of the 28 posts in the Middle East and North Africa (MENA) region under the NEA Bureau, only Tunisia, Lebanon and Morocco have not been included in the list of closures.  Of the 52 Africa posts under the AF Bureau, six are in the post closure list.