Enter John Forbes Kerry as 68th Secretary of State

On January 29, 2013, the U.S. Senate confirmed John Forbes Kerry, of Massachusetts, to be Secretary of State.

The vote was a landslide for the five-term veteran of the Senate with 94 of his former colleagues voting YEAs.

There were three senators who voted NAYs:

  • Cornyn (R-TX)
  • Cruz (R-TX)
  • Inhofe (R-OK)

And two senators did not vote:

  • Hoeven (R-ND)
  • Murray (D-WA)

The remaining 1 vote counted as “present” was Senator Kerry’s.

kerry bio-collage

The following day, Senator Kerry delivered his Senate farewell floor address.

In related news, word from The Building is that Secretary Clinton’s last day at work will be today, February 1.  Apparently, Secretary-Designate Kerry will also be sworn this afternoon in a private, small swearing-in ceremony with Justice Kagan.  We don’t know if there will be a public swearing in ceremony.  We heard that  his first day “in the mother ship” or Main State will be Monday, February 4.
Related articles